Monday, November 18, 2013

Charge up your Electronics in a Disaster

Do you have a way to charge your electronic devices in a disaster?  A lot of people keep emergency apps in their smart phone, but you'll quickly lose access if you don't have a way to charge them.  Fortunately there are some options.

See these articles for some ideas.

GoalZero Guide 10 Adventure Kit Review: Keeping Your Electronic Devices Going During an Emergency

Goal Zero Nomad 7 solar charger


BioLite CampStove Review


The Real Solar Charger Test


Thursday, November 14, 2013

Will You have Enough Water in a Disaster

I saw that NatGeo special American Blackout and it made me think about what my situation would be if it really happened.

The disaster lasted 10 days in the show but in that amount of time, chaos reigned and people had to move to emergency camps because they did not have enough to live on.  I may have enough food for 10 days, but I sure don't have enough water which made me worry.  I don't have a huge amount of space to store water, but I started revamping my water storage after seeing that show.  I ordered a Berkey water filter to ensure I can purify water if tap water got contaminated or if I had to find another less desirable source.

This is a good article on how to store water in a hurry.  See Modern Survival Blog's

Ways To Quickly Store Water At Home During Disaster

I am going to take these ideas and make a note for myself.

Monday, November 11, 2013

Find a Way to Get Home in an Emergency

If an emergency happens while you're away from home, you'll need backup ways to return home if the roads are blocked or if you have to walk home from an unfamiliar area.

- Pre-plan multiple routes including freeways, side streets, public transportation, or on foot.

- Keep paper maps handy at the office, or in the car.

- GPS devices can help as long as the satellites are functional.  See this handy personal GPS device called Bushnell BackTrack Detour - you can pre-program up to five destinations. 

Screen View in Sunlight

Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Did you know Tents can Pose a Danger?

I had not even thought about tents trapping carbon monoxide, until I read this article

With lots of people doing fall backpacking and camping, and packing them in their bug out bags, this is definitely something to keep in mind.

Thursday, October 17, 2013

Get your Coffee Fix even in an Emergency

To all the coffee drinkers out there - wouldn't you still want your morning cup of joe even if there is no electricity?  Sure there are substitutes, but it's good to know how to brew your own.  See this post and try the easy directions:

Self-Sufficient Saturdays: How to Brew Coffee without Electricity


Monday, October 14, 2013

Stay Safe in a Hotel

Many times, people who are traveling, especially on vacation, let their guard down.  Many travelers who normally prepare for emergencies at home would not even think about it when going on a trip.  Unfortunately, the consequences can be serious.

10 Personal Security Tips for Hotel Stays

Don't Leave Home without Your Preps

have great tips and reminders for all of us. 

Sunday, October 6, 2013

I'm Back!

I've been away for a while, but I should be back posting more often now.

I never really stopped my own prepping activities, but I barely had time for anything else.

Glad to be back!

Monday, July 15, 2013

Thursday, June 27, 2013

Fermented Foods are Good for You!

I haven't given much thought to the idea of your stomach being your second brain, but if you think about it, it actually makes sense.  We say "Follow your gut." to protect yourself from danger or to help make the right choice.

See Fermented Foods:  Feeding your Second Brain for an interesting discussion about this.  And there's a link to how to make sauerkraut quickly

I just might try this.

Tuesday, June 25, 2013

Doing Laundry Without Electricity


Have you ever washed clothes without electricity?

It could be challenging if you don't plan ahead.

Read The Truth about Doing Laundry Off-Grid from Apartment Prepper.

The comments from people who have washed clothes without power are interesting too.

Friday, June 21, 2013

A Doable List to Start a Food Storage Plan

Starting out with food storage can be confusing and intimidating.  You may have picked up a few canned foods and ramen noodles, but where do you go from there?

Found a nice article over at Backdoor Survival20 Items to Kickstart your Food Storage Plan

The list is well-rounded and doable.

Check it out!

Tuesday, March 5, 2013

Which Items Disappear First During a Disaster?

I've seen pay sites that promise to tell you which items you should stock up on in a disaster but you can get this list free if you look.

Here's a good article that will tell you which items will get sold out and disappear during a disaster, so now is a good time to start obtaining them:

 100 Items That Disappear First in a Disaster

This weekend, I am going to pick up some of these items to add to the stockpile.  I am starting with the most affordable:  separating the list on items I can get from the dollar store, discount stores like Target or Walmart.  

What are you waiting for- start making your list now!

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

How to Make a Solar Oven

The instructions given in this article are easy to find and are easy to follow.  A sun oven would come in handy if you have no electricity especially if you live in a warm climate. 

Check out:

OkSolarBox Oven!



I plan to try using a solar oven in the summertime, but in the meantime I am going to assemble the materials.


Thursday, February 21, 2013

What to Do If you Haven't Prepared

I ran across the Granpappy blog and found this great post that was written a couple of years ago, but is still really timely and "hits the nail on the head."

See this article:

What to Do Right Now if the Hard TimesHave Begun and You are Not Prepared

You will find a lot of great tips on preparing and focusing on items you will need the most.  Check it out!

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Try Making Your Own Laundry Detergent

Part of being prepared is learning skills to make your own necessities.  No one can be completely self sufficient, but it is a good idea to have ingredients at home that will allow you to make things yourself.

I started by making my own laundry detergent.  Honestly, I didn't think it would turn out well but it actually cleaned my clothes pretty well.  And it was super easy to make.

Check out this article for the recipe:

Experimenting with the Easiest Homemade Laundry Detergent


 Don't be afraid to try it out - you may be pleasantly surprised.

Thursday, February 14, 2013

Do You Have a Get Home Bag

If an emergency happens while you are at work, do you have the things you may need to get yourself back to your family?

If you have not considered this possibility, read The Prepper Journal's article

Prepping 101 - Get Home Bag

The get home gag is not the same as a bug out bag.  The bug out bag is for a longer term scenario, when you need to evacuate your home, whether you are planning to come back or not.  The get home bag is for a short-term purpose, to get you home.

Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Can You Recharge Alkaline Batteries?

I didn't think it was possible, until I read this post from Preparedness Is Fundamental:

Recharging Alkaline Batteries

I have not tried it but it sure is interesting.  You'll need alkaline batteries that are not completely used up, a battery charger, preferably one that also tests battery life.  Note:  Always get rid of batteries that have already started leaking.

You can never have enough batteries for lighting and other uses in an emergency.  Being able to recharge a regular alkaline battery before it is completely discharged would be handy indeed.

Monday, January 28, 2013

Why You Need Cash for Survival


A lot of prepping sites recommend gold and silver but this article from Off Grid Survival has a different view:

CASH IS STILL KING: Why Preppers Need to Stop Worrying about Gold and Start Keeping Cash

I would have to agree.  I've been in a grocery store when power went out.  All the credit card processors were offline and they were only accepting cash for transactions.  

One of my goals this year is to increase the emergency cash fund.   Even if you only keep $50 to $100 around, something is better than nothing- just get started.

Friday, January 25, 2013

The Easiest Candle Making Instructions Ever

DIY Survival Candles from TEOTWAWKI Blog

I've tried and failed at making candles before.  I bought one of those candle making kits and was not very successful at it, and made a mess in my kitchen too.  Many of the instructions I've seen seem complicated and require a lot of equipment.

I had just about given up on making candles until I saw the post on TEOTWAWKI Blog:  DIY Survival Candles.

The materials are reasonably priced and the directions are very easy to follow.   And you don't even need a double boiler, just improvise!

I'll be definitely try making these survival candles, thanks to TEOTWAWKI Blog!

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

The Emberlit-Stove Looks Easy to Use

I am always on the lookout for light-weight and easy-to-use survival stoves so this article: 
Sherpa Gear Review: The Idiot Proof Emberlit-UL Stove
caught my eye.  Idiot-proof is a good quality for a survival stove:  during a high stress situation, you need your equipment to be reliable and with very easy instructions.   Understanding the equipment directions should be low on your list of worries!

The Emberlit Stove looks to have performed well according to the article.  At $37.99 it is priced reasonably too, and that is why I am adding it to my survival equipment wish list.

Saturday, January 19, 2013

Back to Blogging

Took some time off from blogging during the Christmas holidays but I have not let up on being prepared.  We need to be prepared now more than ever.  I am trying to free up some funds to add to our prepping budget. 

I'll be back recommending articles and preparedness tips very soon!